It’s all clear now

I have suffered from acne for many years. Not that it was particularly severe but enough to make me feel uncomfortable in my own skin. Because it was not severe, people would not really care, doctors, parents, friends. For a while I just believed that it would pass and I needed to be patient.

I am not sure what was the wake up call, maybe turning 26 and thinking “I am 26 now, it is not a teens’ acne, if it is to last my whole life I gotta learn how to take care of it.”

As very simple as it seems, I found all my answers on Caroline Hirons‘ blog.

She is just amazing, very knowledgeable about beauty in general, and funny and sassy, which is exactly down my street. You can find on her blog info about particular products or issues, and I remember finding this video specifically helpful. It helped me figure out where my acne could come from and gave me options to try to clear it.

In a nutshell, my skin routine is now:

AM:
cleansing with any gentle cleanser (Cetaphil, cleansing oil, anything gentle really), these days I use one from Boots Botanics
Sometimes : gentle hydrating toner
Effaclar Duo (+) – La Roche Posay


PM:
Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover – Sephora  (because I wear waterproof mascara everyday)
Cleansing oil – L’Occitane (or The Body Shop, or their Cleansing butter )
Toner Glow Tonic – Pixi
Triacneal – Avene
Sometimes I would put an extra layer of cream or oil if I feel dehydrated.

The least I can say is it cleared my skin and changed my life (so cheesy).

Leave a Reply

